2016 Pacific Island Players’ Player of the Year Award Winners

Fijian Players Player of the Year – Osea Kolinasau

Tongan Players Player of the Year – Tane Takulua

Samoan Players Player of the Year – Alafoti Faosilivia

Pacific Island Players Player of the Year – Fiji 7’s team

February 14th 2017 – On the back of their unprecedented achievements in 2016 the Fijian 7’s team players have all been awarded the overall Pacific Island Players Player of the Year Award for 2016.

To view video of the award winners in action please click here

The success of the Fijian 7’s team in 2016 by winning both the World Sevens Series over a gruelling 10 tournaments and then going on to win the ultimate prize in Rio has cemented their place in Rugby history. Their on-field achievements were breath-taking and their conduct as young sportsmen enhanced the reputation of the region throughout the world.

Alafoti Faosilivia won the Samoan Players’ Player of the Year Award after a strong 2016 starting all 6 test matches for Manu Samoa. Tane Takulua continued his rise as a world class half back and took his game to new heights in 2016 for the Ikale Tahi. Osea Kolinasau won the Fiji Players Player of the Year, his consistency of play and outstanding leadership has left an imprint in the history of Fiji and Pacific Island Rugby to mark what was a truly remarkable year.

PIPA board member and former Ikale Tahi loose forward Hale T Pole paid tribute to the award winners, “there are few greater honours than to receive recognition from your peers for the hard work that goes into consistently performing on the international stage, on behalf of all the Pacific Island Players we congratulate the Fijian 7’s team, Osea, Tane, and Alafoti for their outstanding contribution to pacific island rugby during 2016.”